Buy Kim’s Books

The History Novels

Vienna Days (paperback, also in Kindle)
Originally published in 2006, Vienna Days is set in 19th century Vienna.
Peter Keller has it all: a secure career, a fiancée of impeccable family, and the joy of living in one of the world’s most beautiful cities.
Then he meets a group of irreverent, seditious artists and a Jewish refugee — the mysterious, doomed Astrid — and all his beliefs and principles are changed forever.
Set against the turbulent background of the revolutionary Secession movement, Vienna Days is the story of a man’s discovery of his talent, his fall from grace, his endless search for the truth, and his final frightening discovery.

Family Fortunes (Kindle only; Part 1 of the Grenville Family saga; an earlier edition is available in paperback, but in limited quantities)
As farms fail all over Victorian England, the Grenville family, hereditary heirs to the ancient earldom of Felton, must do the unthinkable, and invest in the world of commerce. But as they turn their tiny shipping line into a huge conglomerate, they learn that Castlefield Shipping is full of thieving rogues who are trying to to defraud them of their investment and take over the company.
Against this backdrop is the story of John and Caroline Grenville, son and daughter of the 10th Earl of Felton.
John falls in love with the fiery Princess Sabine of Saxony. Even though she is about to marry his brutish Prussian cousin Kaspar, Sabine returns his love — but the wedding has been arranged, and must go forward.
Caroline is also faced with a doomed love affair. She falls in love with an actor — a profession quite unsuitable for a daughter of the nobility — and eventually marries him, only to find that he has a deadly secret which could kill them both.
As doomed love, corporate skullduggery, diplomatic intrigue and Victorian morality all combine, the action in Family Fortunes moves from England to Chile, to Prussia and to Africa, as John struggles to protect his family’s fortune and Caroline strives to find happiness and fulfillment.

Contemporary Novels

Prime Target (Kindle only)
Nick Walker moves to California to take a new job as a senior data analyst. Everything looks rosy: he’s getting a good salary and has fine prospects at a reputable company. On his first day on the job, however, he discovers that the company has been taken over by a huge data management company, and Nick soon learns that their biggest client is the U.S. Government. Nick becomes part of a small team of “data miners” who comb through masses of international financial transactions collected by various government agencies, to try to predict terrorist activity by tracking their spending.
One day a suspicious set of financial transactions is brought to Nick’s desk for further investigation, and in a stunning revelation, he discovers that the government has begun covertly spying on millions of American citizens, not just foreigners.
As a Desert Storm veteran with expertise in communications, his expertise in data management, and with help from his coworker (and expert hacker) Cassie Papadakis, Nick hopes to overcome the tremendous odds against him to expose this illegal activity, but it’s difficult when the lawbreakers are themselves the government agencies that are supposed to be safeguarding the nation.
How far up the chain of command does this lawlessness go?

Creative License (Kindle only)
When copywriter James Garrick is suddenly promoted to be the creative director of the huge Maxwell/Lacey Advertising Agency in Chicago, it seems like all his dreams have come true. But his new job comes at a price: his post-traumatic stress worsens, his relationship with his live-in girlfriend suffers, he is nearly killed in a hit-and-run accident, and he becomes the center of an illegal stock trading scam. Only by stepping outside the law can the tough ex-soldier make sense of it all, and rescue his career, the company, and his relationship with the woman he loves.

Coming attractions: Skeleton Coast (spring 2018), Family Battles (fall 2018; Part 2 of the Grenville Family saga), Back Story (winter, 2018/9), Budapest Afternoons (spring 2019). The order of publication is subject to change…